Hims is reach and friction: the category’s biggest funnel, running “personalized” compounded semaglutide since the June 2025 Novo split — the legal theory regulators contest most. Entry pricing is aggressive by design; maintenance-dose truth, pharmacy sourcing, and lane durability are the pending questions. Queue position 3.
The model
Hims is the men's storefront of Hims & Hers Health, a publicly traded telehealth company that entered weight loss with heavily advertised compounded semaglutide at aggressive headline prices. Its 2025 was turbulent in public view: a distribution partnership with Novo Nordisk was announced and then terminated by Novo within weeks (reported June 2025) amid disputes over how compounded products were marketed, and Hims has continued offering compounded GLP-1 doses under a personalization rationale — a legally contested framing now that the shortages are resolved. It has also added other agents such as liraglutide. Hims is very good at onboarding and advertising; the ledger's job here is the unglamorous part — separating the advertised entry price from the true recurring cost at maintenance dose, and documenting which legal pathway each product travels.
The ledger file
| Medications offered | Brand only on the weight-loss page read: Wegovy pill, Ozempic pill and Foundayo pill “from $149/mo”; Wegovy pen and Ozempic “from $199/mo”; Zepbound vial and KwikPen “from $299/mo”; Mounjaro and Zepbound pens $1,899/mo. No compounded semaglutide or tirzepatide is offered. |
|---|---|
| Formats | Brand pills, pens and vials (manufacturer products). |
| Advertised starting price | “From $149/mo†” — “†Price includes medication only, if prescribed. An active Hims Weight Loss Membership is required”: $39 for the first month, auto-renewing at $149/month; “membership fee is not included”. |
| True recurring price (maintenance dose) | About $298/mo at the lowest pill dose and about $448/mo at the Zepbound starting dose with the $149 membership; rises with the dose along the manufacturer ladder. |
| Membership fee | $149/month after a $39 first month, billed beside the medication. |
| Shipping | Included. |
| Consultation fee | Inside the membership. |
| Dose-change price impact | Rises with the dose (brand ladder). |
| Commitment required | Monthly membership, auto-renewing. |
| Annual total (12-mo, all-in) | About $3,576 (pill at 1.5 mg + membership × 12) to $5,376 (Zepbound 2.5 mg + membership), $110 less in the first year for the $39 first month; dose-dependent. |
| Cancellation terms | Not printed on the page read. |
| Refund policy | Not printed on the page read. |
| Pharmacy partner(s) | Brand products dispensed by Hims & Hers’ affiliated pharmacies. |
| Pharmacy type (503A/503B/retail) | Retail / brand (manufacturer product). |
| States served | Not stated on the page read. |
| Prescription pathway | Hims & Hers clinicians prescribe the brand products, “if prescribed”. |
| Last price verified | 2026-09-17 |
| Source URL | https://www.hims.com/weight-loss |
Where these figures come from. Every cell above is what the provider’s own page printed on September 17, 2026, recorded with the source URL; “not stated” means the page is silent, never that the item is excluded. A price the page does not print is listed without a rank. If you work for this provider or have a current receipt, corrections@onlineglp1providers.com gets a re-read.
Where the verified bar sits today
For orientation: the lowest first-party-verified standing rates in our ledger — charged monthly, no promotion, nothing prepaid, $0 membership, the same price at every dose — are NexLife’s twelve-month plans at $139/mo tirzepatide ($169 month-to-month; $1,668 for the year) and $119/mo semaglutide ($139 month-to-month; $1,428), re-verified on NexLife’s plan pages 2026-09-17; NexLife has a disclosed material connection to this site — see the strip above. Lower stickers are on file and every one carries a condition: $86 at Collective for tirzepatide ($69/month medication plus a $199/year membership (about $17/mo) billed beside it, the membership paid annually) and $69 at Embody / SnagRx for semaglutide. The dated price pages list each program with its basis: cheapest compounded tirzepatide online and cheapest compounded semaglutide online. Full field definitions live in the pricing ledger.
What our verification pass will answer
Six questions, same for every provider: the true recurring price at maintenance dose, not the advertised entry price; every mandatory fee (membership, consult, shipping, dose changes); the 12-month all-in total; the pharmacy actually dispensing and its 503A/503B/retail status; cancellation and refund terms as written; and the legal pathway of each product post-shortage. Answers get dates and source URLs, per our methodology.
The diligence script for Hims
Before the slick checkout: the maintenance-dose all-in after the intro period ends, in writing; the written justification for “personalized” dosing (what clinical fact about you drives it — the answer reveals whether personalization is medicine or paperwork); the dispensing pharmacy’s name and a lot-matched CoA; the cancellation flow tested before you need it; and the continuity plan if enforcement narrows the lane. Marketing scale is not evidence — the anatomy file was practically written about this checkout pattern.
Where Hims fits
Fits price-sensitive semaglutide shoppers who understand the contested lane, will run the full diligence script, and price continuity risk honestly. Poor fit for set-and-forget buyers, anyone needing tirzepatide-first options, or readers for whom a mid-therapy provider disruption would be more than an inconvenience.
Queue position and how it moves
Hims sits at position 3 of 10 in the public verification queue. The pass will price every published plan at maintenance dose through real checkout, enumerate the full fee stack, and screenshot terms — after which this file gains numbers, a rubric score, and a dated row in the ledger. Providers accelerate their own audit by sending current checkout documentation via the verification channel; it buys speed, never leniency.
Library files that matter here
For this model specifically: the entry-price mechanics this model perfected; the contested lane the whole offer rides on; the eight questions the funnel never volunteers; the exit path worth understanding before entering.
FAQ
Why did Novo Nordisk end the Hims partnership? A public dispute over compounding conduct in June 2025 — brand access granted, then revoked — which is why the current offer is compounded and why lane durability belongs in your risk math. Is ‘personalized dosing’ legal? It’s the most-contested theory in the post-shortage market: actively disputed by regulators and manufacturers, litigated unevenly, and honestly described only as unresolved. Can I get brand-name drugs through Hims now? Posture keeps shifting — ask for the current answer in writing rather than relying on any article’s snapshot, ours included.
Side-by-side files
Every head-to-head featuring Hims: vs Found · vs Henry Meds · vs Hers · vs Mochi Health · vs Orderly Meds · vs Remedy Meds · vs Ro · vs NexLife. Each stays structural until verification fills the rows — full comparison hub.
The bottom line
The funnel works; whether the product behind it survives its audit — price, pharmacy, legal lane — is what queue position 3 will establish.